Home > Health, parenthood > Race, jog, walk… but do it for Life

Race, jog, walk… but do it for Life

Each summer since 2005 (and once before that) I’ve sent around begging emails, asking for sponsorship for running or walking Cancer Research’s Race for Life. We all get a lot of sponsorship requests and it’s easy to succumb to charity fatigue, so I’m sorry to add to it further – this post is an unashamed reminder that you can still sponsor me for this year’s effort, and to say thanks to those that already did. You can still donate here until the 14th August 2010, and if you miss this year, keep an eye out for next year as I *will* be doing it again..

2010 was my 5th Race for Life.

Clive and David in 2004

Clive and David in 2004

My plan is to walk or run the Race for Life every year to remember Clive, our best man, who died in October 2005. He was 34 years old, and is survived by Marianne, and their son David, who was 2 when he lost his dad. Now that I have a daughter myself there is an added poignancy to this story. It’s hard to lose one of your best friends, but knowing the relationship me & Jules already have with Eleanor, who is now 2, I cannot bear to think of the impact it would have on her to lose either of us at this stage. I’m also deeply sad that she never got to meet her dad’s best friend, or he to meet her.

Since Clive’s death my lovely friend Kay has been diagnosed with breast cancer, and after years of chemo and pain has now thankfully been given the all clear.

This is by no means unusual – I am forever hearing stories about other people’s loved ones who are suffering or losing their battle. Individual battles rage on, and the war is far from over.

So far I’ve run around Blackheath twice, and walked Blackheath, Regent’s Park and Cassiobury Park, Watford. (I missed 2008 as I’d just given birth, but I don’t think I’m doing too badly so far..)

Including 2010 so far I’ve raised £2,594 in donations (including Gift Aid), plus my entry fees, and if this post raises just another £20 it’ll still be worth it.

Roll of honour:
2006 http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/melanieclark
2007 http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/melanieclark2007
2009 http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/melaniemack
2010 http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/melaniemack2010

Thank you for reading, and caring.

M
x

  1. Marianne
    August 4, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Marvellous, thanks darling. I am with you in spirit as you do the worthy thing, and very definitely with you in spirit when you knock back a pint of wine afterwards– and obviously, so is Clive!!!
    XXXX

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

